Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Furman University Sacred Harp
and Christian Harmony Singing

Herring Music Pavilion, Greenville, South Carolina

Saturday, May 7, 2005

The eighth session of the Furman University Singing was called to order by Chairman Frances Carnell leading 34b. John Plunkett offered the opening prayer.

A business session was held with the following officers re-elected and committees appointed: Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers; Chaplin—John Plunkett; Arranging—Dan Huger; Finance—John Plunkett; Locating/Hospitality—Jean Osteen Gaston and John Gaston.

In the opening session, all songs were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Leaders: Frances Carnell 34t, 28b; Lee Rogers 31b, 475; Dan Huger 479, 547; John Plunkett 492, 52t; Judy Mincey 474, 287; David Farmer 38t, 567; Bill Burns 155, 40.


Songs in this session were from the Christian Harmony. Mary Baumeister brought the class back to order leading 245t and 254b. Jean Osteen welcomed the singers to the Furman University Singing. Leaders: Frances Carnell 171t; Kitty Reusch 204t, 306; Diane Eskenasy 339, 51; Caroline Parsons 159t, 55b; Deborah Jones and David Jones 185b, 289b; John Hollingsworth 23b, 31t; Sara Jane Thomas 217; Jane Spencer 267, 116t.


The songs led in this session were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Dan Huger led 99 to bring the afternoon session to order. Leaders: Victoria Eastland 178, 481; Stephen Eastland 274t, 168; Frances Carnell 215, 328; Jonathan Smith 148, 85; Leon Carnell 51, 163b; Chris Carnell 376, 68t; John Plunkett 86; Mary Baumeister 64, 164; Deborah Jones 504, 566; Steve Walker 107, 38b.


The Christian Harmony was used for the final session of the singing. Dan Huger brought the class to order leading 261t and 103b. Leaders: Diane Eskenasy 140, 128t; Kitty Reusch 28t, 381b; Sara Jane Thomas 191b, 129t; Judy Mincey 50; Caroline Parsons 136, 117; Jane Spencer 248b; Lee Rogers 162t.

David Farmer led 267 from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition as the closing song. John Hollingsworth dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers.