Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baldwin County Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bay Minette Church of Christ Fellowship Hall, Bay Minette, Alabama

January 22-23, 2005

Saturday, January 22

Chairman Bill Hogan welcomed the class to the Baldwin County Sacred Harp Singing Convention for 2005, and then led 567. Johnny Lee offered the opening prayer.

The following offices were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—J.A. Mosley; Secretary—Alice Moseley.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 341; Alice Mosley 484; Nate Green and Norma Green 37; Jewell Rowland 143, 58; Paul King 270; Frank Hataway 81; Mike Jones 76b; Bill Beverly 478; Richard Graham 572; Henry Johnson 336b; Ann Jett and Flarce Creel 39; Harrison Creel 54t; Elsie Moon 68t.


The class resumed singing with Wanda Capps leading 505. Leaders: Wayne Jones 36b; Cassie Franklin 292b; John Merritt “Nettie”(composed by Bill Green in memory of his mother, Nettie Green); Thurman Nall 443; Rodney Ivey and Cassie Franklin 98; Lera Ellison 395b; Martha Beverly 392; Wilburn Ellison 447t; Billy Kelly 491; Johnny Lee and Delorese Lee 515; S.T. Reed 544.


The class was brought to order by Aubrey Barfield leading 552. Leaders: Robert Walker 229; Bill Green 543; Uel Freeman 571; Loretta Jones 108t; Sandy Nicholson 72; Ed Bass 309; Regina Marshall 393t; John Etheridge 133 (for Jo Schultz); Morgan Bunch 203; Cleo Murphy and friends “No Tears in Heaven”. John Merritt offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Vice Chairman J.A. Mosley called the class back together leading 59. Leaders: J.C. Rutledge 501; Sue Bunch 563; Donald Clark 428; Brenda Merritt 450; Karen Clark 116; Gary Smith 336t; Sarah Smith 519b; Seth Holloway 274; Ernest Cockroft 553b; Velton Chafin 373.


The class was brought back to order by Margaret Spurlock leading 112. Leaders: Christine Gandy 330t; Joe Nall 171; Paulette Chavers 358; Tommie Spurlock 376; Stanley Smith 196; J.W. Oliver 377t; Dana Merritt 486; John Merritt “Mundfordville” (for A.E. Probst); Becky Briggs 384; Brother Willis 497.

After announcements were made, Chairman Bill Hogan led 331 as the closing song. Aubrey Barfield offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, January 23

Chairman Bill Hogan led 40 and 179 to bring the Sunday morning session to order. Johnny Lee offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: J.A. Mosley 101t; Alice Mosley 343; Uel Freeman 388; Velton Chaffin 114b; Wayne Jones 435; Martha Beverly 412; Nate Green and Norma Green 436b, 70b; Wanda Capps 222; Robert Walker 572; S.T. Reed 138t; Tommie Spurlock 433; Ann Jett 573t; Johnny Lee 513t; Lera Ellison 225t; Elsie Moon 404; Bill Aplin and Vickie Aplin 444b; Jo Schultz 300.


J.A. Mosley led 75 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Henry Johnson 278b; Wilburn Ellison 451; Harrison Creel and Cassie Franklin 355; J.W. Oliver 73t; Stanley Smith 522; Loretta Jones 47b; J.C. Rutledge 490.

Bill Hogan conducted the memorial lesson. The list of sick and shut-ins was read, and Tommie Spurlock led 183 in honor of these singers.

Bill Hogan read the list of deceased singers who passed away in 2004, and led 74b in their memory. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer led by Bill Hogan.

Leaders: John Etheridge 86; Christine Gandy 360; Thurman Nall 38t; Bill Beverly 297; Rodney Ivey 559; Mike Jones 498t; Sue Bunch 63; John Merritt and Bill Beverly “Delusion”; Morgan Bunch 383; Bill Hogan 319. Stanley Smith offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Chairman Bill Hogan led 45t to bring the class to order. Leaders: Sarah Smith 500; Becky Briggs 122; Otis Gulledge 30b; Vickie Aplin 417; Tim Jones 47b; Cassie Franklin 416t; Gary Smith 553; Seth Holloway 571; Martha Beverly 419; Bill Beverly 120; Rodney Ivey 506; Genny Whitworth 436t; Bill Hogan 483.

Announcements were made. Bill Hogan, J.A. Mosley, and John Etheridge led 488b as the closing song. Bill Hogan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—J.A. Mosley; Secretary—Alice Mosley.