Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Tennessee State Convention

Second Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Near Five Points, Tennessee

October 9-10, 2004

Saturday, October 9

The tenth annual session of the Tennessee State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chairman Tim Reynolds leading 47t. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the opening prayer. Selections of songs are from β€œThe B.F. White Sacred Harp, 1992 Revised Cooper Edition.”

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 268t; Sandie Scott 137, 507t; David Carlton 411, 175; Vella B. Gillespie 408, 358; Bob Meek 511t, 367; Gordon Wilkinson 491, 217; Diane Ezell 168, 112.


Clayton Ezell brought the class back to order leading 293b. Leaders: Tony Gordy 45t, 63; Glenda Hopper 120; Earl Ballinger 563, 292b; Flarce Creel 422b; Elsie Moon 54t, 404 (for Edith Tate); Gary Smith 336t, 553; Ann Jett 515, 503; David Beasley 343b; Emily Creel 222, 142; Elder J.L. Hopper 403, 410; Debbie Sides 508, 49b; Henry Schuman 478, 571; Wanda Capps 505, 575; Danny Creel 559; Sarah Smith 288, 540; Harrison Creel 355; Doris Littrell 40; Margie Norwood 405.

Tim Reynolds led 447t as the closing song. Rev. Royce Creekmore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, October 10

β€œThe Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition” was used during the Sunday session of the Convention.

Tim Reynolds called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. and led 59. Henry Schuman offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Tim Reynolds 159; Clayton Ezell 119; Kerene Box 405, 84; Clay Mattox 124, 341; Teddy Creel 72b, 358; Paige Hunter 535; Margie Norwood 147t, 452.


Gordon Wilkinson brought the class back to order leading 112 and 475. Leaders: Marcia Edmondson 45t; John Edmondson 49t, 85.

A business session was held. The current officers were re-elected to serve: Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Gordon Wilkinson; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett; Arranging—Clayton Ezell.

Leaders: Doris Littrell 490, 143; Larry Ballinger 101t; Alicia Williams 63, 168; Henry Schuman 426b, 318 (for Pauline Creel Childers); Elsie Moon 434, 177; Flarce Creel 384.


David Carlton brought the class back to order leading 76b, 77t, and 174. Leaders: Wanda Capps 203; Roy Turrentine 49b, 35; Ivalene Donaldson 274t; Harrison Creel 498; Sarah Smith 340, 129; Linton Ballinger 32t.


Clayton Ezell brought the class back to order for the afternoon session leading 578 (OSH). Leaders: Tim Reynolds 148; Julietta Haynes 216, 222; Earl Ballinger 430, 329; Emily Creel 383, 269.

The memorial lesson was held. David Carlton led 163b for the deceased: Howard Cherry, Donald Durham, and Tom Watson—Tennessee; Darrell Beasley, Gladys Bonds, Christal Crocker, Elvin Guthrie, and Mavis Price—Alabama; Mark Ayers—South Carolina.

Paige Hunter led 340 for the sick and shut-ins: Frances Mattox, Estelle Davenport, and Grady Davenport—Tennessee; Elsie Beasley, Sherry Guthery, Marie Guthrie, John Hocutt, and Edith Tate—Alabama. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Bob Meek 236; Ann Jett 546, 327; Gary Smith 503, 31t; Lucy Heidorn 200; Seth Holloway 145b, 30t; Amber Davis 224, 142; Danny Creel 196; Danny Creel, Ann Jett, and Wanda Capps 342; Jayne Fulmer 454; David Beasley and Ruby Staggs 354b, 33b; Sandie Scott 472, 282; Laurens Blankers 122, 339; Wilton Donaldson 47b.

Announcements were made. Clayton Ezell, Kerene Box, Thelma Elliott, Vella B. Gillespie, Iris Jean Durham, Reva Lee, and Laris Ezell led 294 as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Timothy J. Reynolds; Vice Chairman—Gordon Wilkinson; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.