Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cooper Book Singing

Shady Grove Baptist Church, Dutton, Alabama

Saturday, October 2, 2004

The annual Shady Grove Cooper Book Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in October at Shady Grove Baptist Church, Dutton, Alabama. Mark Brown served as Chairman and opened the singing with 461. The morning prayer was offered by Louis Hughes.

Leaders: Mark Brown 47t; Mark Brown, Andrew Brown, and Matthew Brown 268t; Rex Wilks 47b, 53; Aaron Wootten 101t; Blake Sisemore 99; Drew Smith 30b; S.T. Reed 532, 544; Ashley Brown 311, 73t; Gene Wootten 507b; Hershell King 572; Louis Hughes 138t, 528b; Milton Oliver 54t, 505; Rhonda Arnold 559; Pam Wilkerson 541; Darlene Dalton 449; Nate Green and Norma Green 432, 336t.


Rodney Ivey brought the class back to order with 183. Leaders: Ed Thacker 78, 393t; Cassie Franklin 355, 98; Henry Johnson 447b, 336b; Robert Walker 72; Mike Jones 76b, 384; Anita Landess 500; Frank Strickland 442t, 288; Myra Dalton 478, 567; Joan Aldridge 84, 515.


The class resumed singing with Mark Brown leading 511b. Leaders: Floyd Benson 451, 127; Michael Thompson 422, 282; Tim Dalton 543; Betty Wright 225t, 199.

The memorial lesson was held. The congregation was asked to name any deceased or sick and shut-ins that they would like to have remembered during the memorial. Several names were given, and Syble Adams led 574 in memory of the deceased, and in honor of the sick and shut-ins. The memorial was closed.


Mark Brown called the class together for the afternoon session with 571. Leaders: Loyd Ivey 116; Loyd Ivey and Margaret Thacker 540, 491; Karen Clark 486, 286b; Tony Ivey 295, 398b; Don Clark 70t, 171; Eddie Brown 285t, 283b; Hobert Ivey and Sandy Ivey 47t; John Etheridge 156, 552; Dianna Knight 229; Charlotte Heard, Jean Clingon, and Syble Adams 59 (Denson Book, to a newer tune); Rodney Ivey and Myra Dalton 133 (dedicated to Ronnie Meadows, Myra Dalton’s brother); Rodney Ivey and Pam Wilkerson 140; Loretta Smith 440t; Louis Hughes 395b; Frank Strickland 388; Mike Jones 435; John Etheridge 497; Karen Clark 55; Blake Sisemore 358; Darlene Dalton 488b; John Etheridge “Mercy Seat”; Mark Brown 540 (WB); Robert Walker 501; Aaron Wootten 45 (to the tune of 511t); Drew Smith 558b; Michael Thompson 81; Syble Adams 486t (WB); Mark Brown “Sweet Beulah Land.”

Following announcements, Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Mark Brown; Secretary—Syble Adams.