Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 7-8, 2004

Saturday, August 7

The one hundred thirty-sixth session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Chairman John Morris leading 53 and 58. Robert Vaughn offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Emmie Morris 148; Robert Vaughn 50t; Terre Schill 521; Billy Huckaby 424; Doris Hanks 450; Chris Adams 282; Shane Wooten 54; Baron Powers 79; Lynnette Howard 393; Gary Rogan 567.

Buzz Fullen, Mayor of Henderson, Texas, gave welcoming remarks.


Aubrey Barfield brought the class back to order leading 522. Leaders: Bruce Coates 442; John Plunkett 411; Kiri Miller 224; Donald Ross 134; Amanda Blevins 36b; Don Howard 484b; Gaylon Powell 68t.


John Morris brought the class back to order leading 59. Leaders: Myrl Jones 183; Zach Rogan 82; Owen Ross 182; Tim McClain 361; Neil Vaught 47b; Myra Palmer 497; Sarah Huckaby 416t; Dick Steil 72; Ryan Ross 297; Rodney Ivey 559; Earl Ballinger 87; Anita Buswell 45t; John Etheridge 98; John Beard 218; Tommie Spurlock 376; Cheryl Foreman 140; Seth Howard 133; Joan Aldridge 84; Diane Ross 168; Amanda Owen 508; Katie Moseley 573; Owen Howard 384; Gaylon Powell 127 (by request). Tom Owen offered the blessing for the noon meal.


John Morris brought the class back to order leading 155. Leaders: Reed Coates 225t; Dale Redmon, Jr. 507b; Vivian Rogan 395b; Tom Owen 374; Scott Curran 203; Leon Ballinger 192; Liz Owen 212; Bob McLemore 78; Catherine Rogan 217; Beverly Coates 505; David Rousseau 179; Monnie Ross 49t; Joan Smith 323; Jeb Owen 421; Sam Craig 145t; Crystal Visco 112; Barbara Newell 447t; Charlie Vaughn 549.


Owen Howard brought the class back to order leading 408. Leaders: Shane Wootten 444t; Ryan Ross 395t; John Etheridge 552; John Plunkett 457; Tom Owen 299; Chris Adams 274t; Owen Ross 38b; Kiri Miller 383; Rodney Ivey 220; Baron Powers 159; Myra Palmer 414; Earl Ballinger 176t; Anita Buswell 451b; Myrl Jones 142; Tim McClain 440b; Seth Howard 39; Leon Ballinger 358; Joan Aldridge 515; Reed Coates 422b; Amanda Owens 500.

Sam Craig led 558b as the closing song. Owen Ross offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 8

The Sunday morning session was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by John Morris leading 73. Leaders: Sam Craig 100; Amanda Owen 99; Seth Howard 511t; Jeb Owen 138t; Don Howard 553b; Kay Martin 571; Lynette Howard 335; Tommie Spurlock 574; Eva Padgett 270; Rodney Ivey 511b; Owen Howard 76b; Liz Owen 470; Diane Ross 277; Aubrey Barfield 220; Scott Curran 196; Kiri Miller 81; John Etheridge 524; Eddie Huckaby 343; Barbara Newell 63; Myrl Jones 491.


Earl Ballinger brought the class back to order leading 212. Leaders: Donald Ross 123b; Burl Russell 164; Shane Wootten 398; Catherine Rogan 40; Joan Aldridge 572; Leon Ballinger 182; Reed Coates 65; Ryan Ross 276; Dick Steil 323; Amanda Blevins 171; Owen Ross 383; Gaylon Powell 216; Zach Rogan 358; Myra Palmer 522; Sarah Huckaby 278b; Vivian Rogan 222; Joan Smith 413.


The Howard brothers brought the class back to order leading 133 in honor of their great-grandfather. Leaders: Jo Redmon and Aubrey Barfield 235; Beverly Coates 168; John Plunkett 267t.

The memorial lesson was conducted. David Rousseau read the names of those deceased in the last year: J.C. Hardin—Alabama; Jack Whitehead, Vernie Barber, Kathleen Allen, Lee Omi Davis, Billy Barlow, Elder O.H. Griffith, Vetta Casey, and Mary Craig—Texas; Betty Haas—Missouri.

Robert Vaughn gave a devotional, reading scriptures from Revelation 14:13 and 7:9-12, then led 285t in memory of the deceased.

Judge Donald Ross gave a moving memorial tribute to Mary Craig of Henderson, Texas who passed away last December, and led 505 in her memory. Mary had been faithful to present inspiring memorial thoughts for many years at the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention.

David Rousseau read the list of names of sick and shut-ins which included: Verna Powell, Ophelia Matthews, Kelly Beard, Ernestine Pipkin, Vicki Aplin, Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Elder Billy Moseley, Marbie Howard, the staff and patients of Lighthouse Hospice, Azalee Barnett, Marcelene Hardy, Lawson Smith, Junior Smith, Rachel Hankins, Bob Alotta, Joe Harris, Adelaide Vaughn, Billie Beard, Thurman Nall, and Lou Nall. Robert Vaughn led 422b in their honor. The memorial was closed.

A blessing on the noon meal was offered by Gary Rogan.


John Morris brought the class back to order leading 32t. Leaders: Chris Adams 61; Billy Huckaby 543; Charlie Vaughn 387; Tom Owen 122; Monnie Ross 108b; Doris Hanks 355; Gary Rogan 319; Cheryl Foreman 272; Dale Redmon, Jr. 514; David Rousseau 341; Terre Schill 386; Bruce Coates 578; Katie Moseley 283b; Robert Vaughn 300; Sarah Huckaby 45; Amanda Owens 47t; Eva Padgett 552; Eddie Huckaby 239; Burl Russell 418; Tommie Spurlock 183; Jeb Owen 98; Diane Ross 434; Liz Owen 144; Aubrey Barfield 306; Scott Curran 137; Myrl Jones 110; Donald Ross 512.

Shane Wootten and John Morris led 62 as the closing song. Tom Owen offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—John Morris and Emmie Morris; Secretary/Treasurer—Marion Grant.