Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, McMahan, Texas

May 29-30, 2004

Saturday, May 29

The one hundred-fourth annual spring session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church in McMahan, Texas on the firth Sunday and Saturday before in May. Chairman Morris Nelms called the class to order at 9:15 a.m. with number 27. Prayer was offered.

Leaders: Chairman Morris Nelms 49t; Vice Chairlady Amanda Owen 84; Secretary Pat Blundell 282; Billy Huckaby 421; Terre Schill 383; Leon Ballinger 507b; Beverly Coates 183; Louis Hughes 76b; Kathy Lee 511t; Don Howard 484; Diane Ross 434; H.P. O’Mary 341; Emmie Morris 215; Gaylon Powell 524; Barbara Moore 229; Keith Willard 416t; Crystal Visco 276; Larry Ballinger 559; Betty Wright 225t; Owen Ross 193; Jenny Willard 563; John Morris 73t; Reed Coates 47b; Anne Moseley 406; Dick Steil 42; LaRue Allen 192.


Chairman Morris Nelms brought the class back to order with 393. Leaders: Henry Schuman 522; Hope Morrison 270; Mike Moseley 376; Amy Duty 63; Scott Curran 384; Earl Ballinger 217; Laura Densmore 98; Bob Meek 574; Katie Moseley 336; Daphene Causey 500; David Lee 505; Berkley Moore 50t; Cheryl Foreman 140; Tollie Lee 78; Karen Willard 448; Guy Bankes 410; Monnie Ross 108b; Amanda Blevins 148; Matt Wells 31t; Donna Hand Sewell 171; Tom Owen 544. Louis Hughes offered prayer for the noon meal.


The class was reassembled, and a business session was held for the purpose of electing officers. Those elected or appointed to serve were: Chairlady—Amanda Owen; Vice Chairman—Leon Ballinger; Secretary—Patricia Baker Blundell.

Leaders: Chairlady Amanda Owen 47t; Bruce Coates 571; Liz Owen 99; Richard Ivey 222; Anitra Kaye 369; Alexandra Gilmore 207; Gary Rogan 411; Jessie Simon 348; Allison Schofield 45b; Jeb Owen 132; Vivian Rogan 146; David Ivey 497; Kelsey Wessels, David Duty 159; Jenna Strizak 511b; Sarah Huckaby 196; Matt Wojcik 224; Shannon Smith 31b; Coy Ivey 449; Doris Hanks 422b; Mike Hinton 478 (Mike recognized the WWII vets in attendance); Dale Redmon 514; Elissa Smith 85; Joe Owen 515; Michelle Rogan 110; Rodney Ivey 133; Lori Rodgers 170; David Moseley 67; Janet Morgan 400; Donald Ross 419; Lela Crowder 501; Charlene Wallace 567; Zach Rogan 142; George Jones 558; Anita Landess 297; Barbara Losse 54.

Chairlady Amanda Owen led 100 as the closing song. David Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, May 30

Chairlady Amanda Owen called the class to order at 9:15 a.m. with number 553. Prayer was offered by Jeb Owen.

Leaders: Chairlady Amanda Owen 68t; Vice Chairman Leon Ballinger 424; Secretary Pat Blundell 467; Kevin Powell 300; Emmie Morris 324; Owen Howard 400; Cissy Moseley 299; Charles Whitmer 393t; Carol Selleck 154b; Elric Elias 82; Daphene Causey 304; Rodney Ivy 38; Diane Ross 40; Matt Wojcik 39; Lela Crowder 103; Coy Ivey 137; Syble Adams 367; Louis Hughes 543; Anita Landess 58; Don Howard 447t; Jenna Strizak 195; Earl Ballinger 77.


Amanda Owen called the class back together with 31b. Leaders: Kathy Lee 374; Henry Schuman 572; LaRue Allen 220; Larry Ballinger 112; Jenny Willard 199; H.P. O’Mary 45t; Betty Wright 323b; Dr. Russell Riepe 329; Janet Morgan 32t; Curtis Owen 558; Kelsey Wessels 171; Keith Willard 511; Laura Densmore 191; David Ivy 182; Karen Willard 95; Tollie Lee 180; Anitra Kaye 122.

Mike Hinton conducted the memorial lesson reflecting on those who have passed away in the last year and previous years, the impact that these people has on us to continue the tradition of the memorial lesson, and his definition of a Sacred Harp singer.

Sacred Harp Singers is an inclusive term which includes many people: those who provide food; who support the singings by listening; carry those who have no way to go; and do all the necessary things to make a singing complete.

The reflection continued about the life spans of the people we sing for and the songs we sing which talk about death and heaven. He talked about the recent death of his father who lived to be 91 years old, was ready to embrace death, and how his nearly 5 year old grandson perceived his death. He reminded us all that those who have passed away are in a better place with no disabilities or pain.

Jeb Owen read the names of our singing family members and friends who have passed on.

John Baker read the names of the sick and shut-ins which included: Jerry Schreiber, John Schaffer, Jeanne Schaffer, Kelly Beard, Earnestine Pipkin, Thomas Denson Hinton, Ophelia Matthews, Hazel Schofield, Linda Henthorn, Bill Green, Eldora Moody, Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, Pauline Childers, Bud Oliver, Vaudie O’Mary, Verna Powell, Francis Daniels, Lennie Baker, and Viola Jones. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Matt Wells 163t; Allison Schofield 436b; Guy Bankes 575; Lori Rodgers 192; David Lee 539. Prayer for lunch was offered by Gary Rogan.


Vice Chairman Leon Ballinger called the afternoon session to order leading 442. Leaders: Barbara Moore 427; Bob Meek 488; Cheryl Foreman 203; Beryl Russell 164; Lynette Howard 47t; Berkley Moore 441; Barbara Losse 222; Richard Ivey 337t; Amanda Blevins 36b; Morris Nelms 365; Michelle Rogan 128; Martha Aiken and Paris Broumley 45b; Crystal Visco 35; Zach Rogan 559; Donald Ross 373; Terre Schill 439; Dale Redmon 540; Billy Huckaby 319; Cassandra Baker 72; John Morris 390; Owen Ross 499; Olivia Powell 235; Eric Morgan 183; Sarah Huckaby 331b; Dick Steil 268t; Alexa Gilmore 76b; Gary Rogan 129; Beverly Coates 294; Gaylon Powell 216.

Chairlady Amanda Owen led 69 as the closing song. Tollie Lee offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairlady—Amanda Owen; Vice Chairman—Leon Ballinger; Secretary—Patricia Baker Blundell.