Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rotunda Singing

Alabama State Capitol, Montgomery, Alabama

Saturday, January 31, 2004

The seventh session of the Rotunda Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in February at the Alabama Department of Archives and History located in Montgomery, Alabama. Four books were used: “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition,” “Christian Harmony,” “Colored Sacred Harp,” and “The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition.

The first session was held using “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.” Chairman Jim Carnes called the class to order leading 37b. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 155; David Ivey 217; Dennis George 189; Wilton Donaldson 229; Max Berueffy 278t; Judy Caudle 85; Elene Stovall 430; Jarrod George 274t; Amber Davis 142; Gary Smith 31t; Linda Thomas 299; Bobby Watkins 32t; Jim Pfau 282.


The second session was held from the “Christian Harmony.” Leaders: Billy Thompson 157b; Tim Cook 111b; Martha Sue Thompson 316; Ruth Wyers 264; Retha Deason 31t; Latisha Crocker 204t; Robert Dupree 293; Luke Smith 188t; Penina King 109.

The third session was held from “The Colored Sacred Harp.” Leaders: Henry Jackson 74; Bernice Harvey 65t; Joyce Belcher 65b; John Etheridge 24; Stanley Smith 20; Steve Grauberger 19; Henry Jackson 4, 87; Bernice Harvey and Joyce Belcher “Lord Give Me Just a Little More Time.”

The fourth session was held from “The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition.” Leaders: Stanley Smith 478; Tommie Spurlock 156; John Etheridge 477; Bill Aplin 163b; Frank Hataway 395b; Max Berueffy 140; Uel Freeman 388; Ercyl Vidrine 141; Bobby Watkins 559; Liz Bryant and Bob Goodman 393t; Ruth Wyers 336t; Bernice Harvey 442t; Jim Pfau 200.


The first afternoon session was held from “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.” Leaders: Jim Carnes 288; Sarah Smith 290; Corene White and Jim Carnes 171; Chita Blakeley 411; Danny Creel 269; Emily Creel 222; Denise Burleson 196; Jack Nelson 30b; Gavin Blakeley 145t; Wayne Hartman 72b; Celia Carnes and Clare Forrester 146.

The second afternoon session was held from “The Christian Harmony.” Leaders: Billy Thompson 235; Herby Bailey 248; Retha Deason and Luke Smith 110; Ann Kimzey 289; John Etheridge 64, 85b; Margie Simmons 281b; Bill Hogan 354t; Jim Pfau 372; Luke Smith 163t; Latisha Crocker 298.

The third afternoon session was held from “The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition.” Leaders: Chita Blakeley 567; Joyce Belcher 28b; Ellen Gwynn 553; Alice Bejnar 455; Richard Graham 573; Tim Cook 507b; Henry Jackson 400; Wilbert Ellison 447t; Dennis George and Jarrod George 358; Amber Davis 229; Danny Creel 404; Jonathan Blakeley 398b.

Announcements were made. Jim Carnes, Joey Brackner, Amber Davis, and Elene Stovall led 176t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer.

Chairman—Jim Carnes; Vice Chairman—Joe Brackner; Secretaries—Amber Davis and Elene Stovall.