Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Covington County New Year’s Singing
(Cooper Book)

First Baptist Church, Collins, Mississippi

Saturday, January 3, 2004

The Covington County New Year’s Singing was held on the first Saturday in January at the First Baptist Church in Collins, Mississippi. The class was called to order by Andrew Albers leading 500 and 508. Chaplain Emmett Harvey offered the opening prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Andrew Albers; Vice Chairman—John Lee Van Horn; Secretary—Etna Jean Gray; Chaplain—Emmett Harvey.

Leaders: Andrew Albers 196; John Lee Van Horn 225t, 140; Jean Gray 563; Andrew Albers (for Emmett Harvey) 57; John Hollingsworth 145b (in memory of Eva Dee and Neva Dee Hollingsworth), 470; Billy Hollingsworth 507b, 235b; Bill Hogan 171, 99; A.E. Probst 239; Stanley Smith 112, 515; Gary Smith 553b, 461.


Andrew Albers called the class together with 378t and 95. Leaders: Marlin Beasley 336t, 336b; J.A. Mosley 572, 282; Alice Mosley 343b, 484b; Sarah Smith 290, 32t; Bobby Caldwell and Winnie McMahon 184 (CH); Mark Davis 107 (by request). Andrew Albers led 369 (traditional song before the noon meal).


Vice Chairman John Lee Van Horn called the class together for the afternoon session with 127. Leaders: Arlon Gardner 134, 543; Henry McGuire 507t, 280; Mark Davis 270, 522; Mike McNeil 573, 559; John Merritt 574, 278b; Murray Simmons 355, 345b; Mike McNeil 101t (by request); Tim Gray 186, 137; Mike McNeil, his mother (Junie McNeil), and sister (Peggy Gandy) 146; Bill Hogan 488b (by request); Hannah Albers and Rhoda Albers 392; Andrew Albers 323b (requested by Nelda Mitchell); A.E. Probst 40; John Hollingsworth 192 (in memory of Mrs. Ottie Matthews); Billy Hollingsworth 393t; Marlin Beasley 447t; Stanley Smith 541; J.A. Mosley 341; Gary Smith 31t; Sarah Smith 61; Andrew Albers 492; John Lee Van Horn 45b; Tim Gray 434 (for Jean Gray); Arlon Gardner 68t, 300; Henry McGuire 220; Andrew Albers 128 (for Emmett Harvey); Mark Davis 176t (in memory of the Millage Hollingsworth family); Bobby Caldwell and Mark Davis 54t; John Merritt 358 (for Nelda Mitchell); Andrew Albers and Walter Blair 511b.

Chairman Andrew Albers led 496t, the traditional closing song. Chaplain Emmett Harvey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Andrew Albers; Vice Chairman—John Lee Van Horn; Secretary—Etna Jean Gray.