Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

East Texas Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Henderson Community Center, Henderson, Texas

August 9-10, 2003

Saturday, August 9

The one hundred thirty-sixth session of the East Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Henderson Community Center in Henderson, Texas on the second Sunday and Saturday before in August, and was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Chairman John Morris leading 345. Curtis Owen offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Emmie Morris 293; Neil Vaught 58; Terre Schill 112; Bob McLemore 59; Aubrey Barfield 522; Curtis Owen 204; Willie Ellison 447t; Doris Hanks 450; Earl Ballinger 563; Gary Rogan 276; Coy Ivey 559; Cissy Moseley 511t; Monnie Ross 49t; Wanda Capps 505; Frank Hataway 395b; Tom Owen 416t; Beverly Coates 106.

The mayor of Henderson, Foy Brown, greeted and welcomed everyone to Texas and to the city.


John Morris brought the class back to order leading 75. Leaders: Tommie Spurlock 156; Leon Ballinger 507b; Myrl Jones 142; Nathan Sarvis 427; Rodney Ivey 497; M.H. Creel 54; Donald Ross 116; Joan Aldridge 84; Alexandra Gilmore 101t; Kevin Powell 280; Myra Palmer 299; Ann Jett 515; Berkley Moore 448; Catherine Rogan 186; Diane Ross 168; Johnny Lee 453.


John Morris brought the class back to order leading 36b. Leaders: Elsie Moon 404; Edith Owen 410; Tim McClain 343b; Bruce Coates 133; Mike Moseley 65; Dale Redmon, Jr. 540; John Etheridge 86. Tom Owen offered the noon blessing for the food.


John Morris brought the afternoon session to order leading 31t. Leaders: Owen Ross 524; Baron Powers 239; Gaylon Powell 216; Joshua McClain 155; Barbara Newell 277; John Plunkett 477; Billy Huckaby 319; H.P. O’Mary 32t; Miki Fryar 288; Jeb Owen 424; Sam Craig 558; Vivian Rogan 148; Stanley Smith 567; Amanda Owen 68; Nate Green and Norma Green 528b.


The class resumed singing with Kevin Powell leading 77t. Leaders: Olivia Powell 235; Ryan Ross 120; Zach Rogan 303; Sarah Huckaby 196; Henry Johnson 390; Dennis George 392; Katie Moseley 543; Reed Coates 217; Jeannette Adams 275b; Josh Rogan 122; David Rousseau 341; Wendy Laubach 40; Teresa Hope 571; Robert Vaughn 348b; Jonathan Taft 348t, 268t; Tommie Spurlock 146.

Judge Ross offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, August 10

The Sunday morning session was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Chairman John Morris leading 207.

Leaders: Gary Rogan 300; Monnie Ross 367; Cissy Moseley 270; Berkley Moore 184b; Tommie Spurlock 574; Ryan Ross 402; Wanda Capps 222; Catherine Rogan 218; Alexandra Gilmore 488b; Elsie Moon 230; Diane Ross 171; Johnny Lee 527; Myrl Jones 189; Frank Hataway 336b; Owen Ross 38b; John Etheridge 552.


John Morris brought the class back to order leading 73t. Leaders: Henry Johnson 511b; Willie Ellison 451; Curtis Owen 442t; Aubrey Barfield 220; Joan Aldridge 572; Rodney Ivey 98; Donald Ross 211; Liz Owen 384; Stanley Smith 521; Dennis George 350; Beverly Coates 385t; Ann Jett 573; John Plunkett 266b; Tom Owen 544; M.H. Creel 381t; Coy Ivey 449, 486t (WB); Jeb Owen 138t; Nate Green and Norma Green 33.

The memorial lesson was held with Mary Craig giving a very moving devotional entitled “Use the Dash.” Owen Ross led 111 in memory of those who had passed away in the last year. Gaylon Powell led 486 in honor of the sick and shut-ins. The memorial was closed, and the class was dismissed for lunch.


The afternoon session was brought to order by John Morris leading 297. Leaders: Earl Ballinger 172; Phyllis Costner 217; Doris Hanks 422; Leon Ballinger 137; Sarah Huckaby 283; Jeannette Adams 164; Kevin Powell 438; Bruce Coates 38t; Dale Redmon, Jr. 514; Gaylon Powell 304; Billy Huckaby 553; Amanda Owen 411; Katie Moseley 68t; Vivian Rogan 282; Reed Coates 76b; Josh Rogan 421; Neil Vaught 47b; Terre Schill 494; Robert Vaughn 387; Sam Craig 100; John Etheridge and Josh Rogan 336; Edith Owen 577; Rodney Ivey 444t; Alexandra Gilmore 99; Johnny Lee 203; Henry Johnson 418; Dennis George 559; Gaylon Powell 45.

Alexandra Gilmore led 488 as the closing song. Tom Owen dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairmen—John Morris and Emmie Morris; Vice Chairman—Sam Craig; Secretary/Treasurer—Marion Grant.