Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mount Pisgah Singing Society (Cooper Book)

Stroud, Chambers County, Alabama

Saturday, May 24, 2003

President Don Clark called the day of singing to order at 9:00 a.m. leading song on page 58. The morning prayer was offered by Johnny Lee.

Today we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the founding of this society. On May 17, 1903 the Mount Pisgah Singing Society was organized and the following officers were elected: James W. Grady, President; F.B. Cummings, Vice President; W.H. Smith, Secretary; W.B. Anglin, Assistant Secretary. There were 111 names listed as members. W.M. Cooper’s newly revised Sacred Harp was adopted as the official book. The society would meet monthly on third Sunday afternoons and all day sings would be held one or two times each year at the discretion of the members. This continued until 1951 when the last all day sing was held. In 1992 the society was reorganized and continues to meet annually.

Leaders: President Don Clark 171; Vice President John Etheridge 497; Secretary Karen Clark 421; Bobby Jackson 408; Tor Bejnar 411; Martha Henderson 207; Wayne Morgan 65; Frank Hataway 336b; Annie Lee Price 47b; Phil Slay 508; Mike Jones 355; Earlis McGraw 436b; Jean Payne 290; Tommie Spurlock 81 (for Bill Farris and Agnes Farris); Johnny Lee 509.


The second session was called to order by President Don Clark leading 145b. Leaders: Sam Schofield 85; Sue Bunch 63; Bud Oliver 47t (for Evelyn Harris); Geraldine Rice 217; Jack Nelson 30b; Nellie Estes 192; Lonnie Rogers 395b; Sandra Wilkinson 199; Audress Gurley 36b; Jeanette Nelson 132; S.T. Reed 138t; Felton Denney 387; Mary Elizabeth Lee 186; Nate Green and Norma Green 373; Shane Wootten 539; Brenda Merritt 156.


The final session of the morning was called to order by President Don Clark leading 100. Leaders: John Merritt “Nothing But The Blood”; Helen Bryson 172 (for Violet Thomason); April Dell 300; Thom Metzger 89; Andy Morse 520; Jim Carnes 225t; Hugh McGraw 416t; Charlene Wallace 567; Wilton Donaldson and Ivalene Donaldson 507t; Lois Stanson 192; Jenny Willard 563; Mattie Perry 120; Darlene Dalton 488b; Hans Guttmann 239; Stanley Smith 45t (for Mrs. Morris).


The first session of the afternoon was called to order by President Don Clark leading 358. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 524; Keith Willard and Johnny Lee 511t; Julie Lee 82; Shane O’Neal 336t; Eileen Metzger 98; Jenny Acton 229; Jimmie Denney 393b; Phillip Reeves 31t (walked time); Charlotte Bishop 511b; Lee Rogers 444t; Kathy Lee 180; Syble Adams 478; Dennis George 392; Guy Bankes 575.


Order was restored by President Don Clark leading 170. Leaders: David Lee, Clarke Lee, and Phillip Reeves 505; John Plunkett 266b; Riley Lee 222; Charles Woods 484; Todd Mitchell 99; Jane S. Elliott 61; Andy Anderson 38t; Margaret Spurlock 112; Clarke Lee 412; Kenneth Robinson 388; the Avery sisters (Nellie Estes, Mattie Perry, and Jean Payne) 196; John Merritt and Jason Nix 522 (requested by Leonard Price); Syble Adams and David Lee “Song of Praise.”

After announcements were made, the officers led 500 as the closing song and all who wished took the parting hand. Elder Clarke Lee dismissed the class with prayer.

President—Don L. Clark; Vice President—John Etheridge; Secretary—Karen Clark.