Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rotunda Singing

Alabama State Capitol, Montgomery, Alabama

Saturday, February 1, 2003

The sixth session of the Rotunda Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in February in the Rotunda of the State Capitol located in Montgomery, Alabama. Four books were used:

The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision,” “Christian Harmony,” “Colored Sacred Harp,” and “The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition,” with 30 minute sessions from each book.

The first session was from “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.” Chairman Jim Carnes called the class to order leading 87. Donald Smith offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Secretary Henry Johnson 88t; Vice Chairman Joey Brackner 63; Dennis George 159; Linda Thomas 82t; Tim Cook 125; Gavin Blakeley 335; Ivalene Donaldson and Wilton Donaldson 499; Rodney Ivey 348; Shelbie Sheppard 142; David Yeager 448t; Judy Caudle 85; Jeff Sheppard 322.

The second session was held from “The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition.” Leaders: John Etheridge 497; Bill Aplin 68t; Frank Hattaway 225t; Chita Blakeley 522; Tommie Spurlock 140; Margaret Spurlock 108; Vickie Aplin 268t; Bobby Jackson 290; Bernice Harvey 442t.

The third session was held from “The Christian Harmony.” Leaders: Donald Smith 135; Billy Thompson 235; Retha Deason 110; Margie Simmons 142; Pennina Kane 109; Jeff James 184; Tim Cook 36t; Latisha Crocker 204t.


The fourth session was held from “The Colored Sacred Harp.

Leaders: H.J. Jackson 24, 9; John Plunkett 12; Pauline Griggs 19; Bernice Harvey 65, “Give Me Just a Little More Time”; Steve Granberger 65b; Janice Johnson 3; H.J. Jackson 87.


The first afternoon session was held from “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision.” Leaders: Bud Oliver 39b; Liz Bryant 542; Bobby Watkins 48t; Bernard Collard 362; Nancy Yeager 84; Andrew Snyder 302; Jonathan Blakeley 189; Herb Bailey 569; Amanda Denson 155; Marlin Beasley 49b; Gary Smith 31t; Earl Smith 45t; Corene White 216; Sarah Smith 145b; Latisha Crocker 490.

The second session of the afternoon was held from “The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition.” Leaders: John Etheridge “The Mercy Seat”; Bill Aplin 385t; Tommie Spurlock 567; Bobby Jackson 229; Cathy Mattox 358; Rodney Ivey 559; Chita Blakeley 573.

The next session was held from “The Christian Harmony.” Leaders: Donald Smith 299; Ruth Wyers 264; David Yeager 251; Herb Bailey 352; Robert Dupree 293; Dennis George 60; Donald Smith 63t; Judy Caudle 117, 51; Ann Kimsey and Janet Schmidt 289.

The final session of the day was to be held from “The Colored Sacred Harp,” but due to health problems, that group of singers had to leave early and singing from that book was cancelled.

Announcements were made. Chairman Jim Carnes led 146 as the closing song. Elder Jonathan Blakeley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jim Carnes; Vice Chairman—Joey Brackner; Secretary—Henry Johnson.