Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elmore-Center Singing

Elmore-Center United Methodist Church, near Gordo, Alabama

Wednesday, August 14, 2002

The one hundred fifty-eighth annual session of the Sacred Harp Singing at Elmore-Center United Methodist Church was called to order by Jack Pate leading song on page 35. Wayne Blankenship offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Johnny Humber 145t, 212; Raymond O’Mary 75; Annie Lou Price 159, 73t; Wilton Donaldson 225t, 348b; Cecil Sanders and Winell Sanders 111b; Clarence McCool 111t, 133; A.A. Malone 300, 432; Travis Keeton 336, 566; Marlin Burkhalter 46, 30t; Tim Cook 73b, 171.


Jack Pate called the class back to order leading song on page 341.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Clarence McCool; Honorary Chairman—A.A. Malone; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Arranging Committee—Johnny Humber; Secretary—Josie Hyde.

Leaders: Clarence McCool 45t; John Hyde 297, 63; John Van Horn 224, 196; Billy Williams 448b, 445; Ivalene Donaldson 544; Bill Stewart 68b, 569b; John Merritt “Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus”, 358; Dessie Goodman 332; Josie Hyde 43, 298. Jim Nap offered the blessing on the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Clarence McCool leading song on page 503.

A memorial lesson was held for those who had passed away since last year, and for the sick and shut-ins.

Toney Smith led song on page 229 for the following sick and shut-ins: Gladys Bonds, Martha Howell, Cecile Cox, Mrs. Barton, Mrs. Pugh, Clara Smith, Walter Hamilton, and Lavaughn Ballinger.

Toney Smith led song on page 129 for the deceased: Dr. James Howell, George Cox, Doris Vickery, Silas Curtis, Thedus Keeton, Freeman Wootten, Milford Watts, Irene Hipp, Dovy Jackson, Bernice McGough, and Ethel McGough. Jack Pate closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Margaret Keeton 498, 268; Hugh Bill McGuire 430, 477; Dorothy Elmore 480, 145t; Toney Smith 57; Cecil Sanders 123t; Wayne Baines 89, 59; Raymond O’Mary 405; James Cummings 46, 452; John Merritt 294, 358, 58 (by request); Clarence McCool 480 (request by Aunt Dessie Goodman).

Announcements were made. John Merritt offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Clarence McCool; Honorary Chairman—A.A. Malone; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Secretary—Josie Hyde.