Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Smith Memorial Singing

Oakhurst Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Monday, May 27, 2002

The class was called to order by John Plunkett leading song on page 48t. Rev. Amy Greene offered the opening prayer. John Plunkett spoke briefly about the role Jack Smith played in introducing many folks to Sacred Harp singing, particularly at Oakhurst Baptist Church, and then led song on page 31t.

Leaders: Secretary Laura Akerman 145t, 361; Guy Bankes 77b, 486; Jeannette DePoy 192, 122; Eric Tweedy 196, 292; Andy Anderson 268, 171; Lela Crowder and Dennis George 385 (t? b?), 208; Dan Huger 209, 99.


The second hour opened with John Plunkett leading song on page 63. Leaders: Scott DePoy 114, 384 (in memory of Suzy Bass); Chris Tweedy 354 (t? b?), 535; Gaylon Powell 442, 240; John Redman 532, 236 (in memory of his mother); Don Clark 186; Andy Morse 40, 448t (spoke about his appreciation for Jack Smith in introducing him to shape note music); Malinda Snow 107, 325; Hermon Wilkinson 215, 47b. The class dismissed for one hour for lunch, with the blessing offered by Andy Anderson.


John Plunkett opened the afternoon session by leading song on page 487b for Memorial Day and for those who have served their country. Leaders: Sharon Kellam 86, 312t; David Yeager 47t, 267; Dennis George 312 (t? b?), 542; Fran Adams 335; Karen Clark 474, 347 (in memory of John Bailey); Nancy Yeager 178, 448b; Bobby Jackson 480, 408; Gaylon Powell 455; Dennis George 421; Amy Greene 159; Dan Huger 61; Sharon Kellam 277.

Announcements were made. The class agreed to plan to hold this singing again next year. John Plunkett led song on page 56t as the closing song. Andy Anderson dismissed the class with prayer.

The last hour consisted of singing gospel music from a songbook compiled by Jack Smith.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Laura Akerman.