Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, McMahan, Texas

March 30-31, 2002

Saturday, March 30

The spring session of the Southwest Texas Convention met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church in McMahan, Texas beginning on Saturday, March 30, 2002. Chairman Mike Moseley called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. with songs on pages 470 and 442. Elder Tollie Lee offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Vice Chairman Reed Coates 186; Secretary Pat Blundell 164; Bruce Coates 558b; Katie Moseley 543; Dale Redmon 540; Catherine Rogan 522; Al Rogers 63; Amanda Owen 99; Scott Curran 98; Cheryl Foreman 140; Zach Rogan 142; Barbara Moore 268; Morris Nelms 436b; Liz Owen 384; Ryan Ross 120; Donn Howard 484; Dick Steil 73; Anne Milner 406; Keith Willard 416; Beverly Coates 148; Josh Rogan 189; Leon Ballinger 217; Owen Ross 555; Reba Windom 505; John Baker 110.


Gary Rogan brought the class to order leading song on page 552. Leaders: Vivian Rogan 508; Earl Ballinger 82; Mary Latimer 358; Gaylon Powell and Dr. Bert Neely 218; Tom Owen 336t; Terre Schill 434; Matt Wells 300; David Moseley 192; Frank Price 571; Kathy Taylor 136; David McPherson 183; Tom Taylor 451b; Troxel Ballou 324; Mary Bachmann 568; Billy Huckaby 450; Seth Howard 143; Sarah Coates 299.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Reed Coates; Vice Chairman—Morris Nelms; Secretary—Pat Blundell; Memorial Committee—Morris Nelms, Martha Aiken, and Owen Ross.

Morris Nelms announced that the fall session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention would be held at Southwest Texas University, San Marcos, Texas on the fifth weekend of September 2002. Gary Rogan asked the blessing for the noon meal.


Vice Chairman Morris Nelms called the afternoon session to order with song on page 59. Leaders: Kevin Powell 383; Amanda Blevins 282; Donald Ross 44; Eric Morgan 67; Diane Ross 40; Jenny Willard 559; Barbara Taylor 139; Carol Selleck 38t; Tollie Lee 544; Lori Rodgers and Ashley 270; Jeb Owen 421; Sue Fairbanks 323b; Louis Hughes 408; Myrl Jones 572; John Schaffer 489; Robert Vaughn 285b; Cissy Moseley 511t; Corbin Rodgers 401; George Jones 244; Olivia Powell 235; Curtis Owen 278b.


Morris Nelms called the class to order leading song on page 427. Leaders: Troxel Ballou 65; Ryan Ross 47t; Kathy Taylor 440b; Mary Latimer 285t; Tom Taylor 32b; Gaylon Powell 232, 235; Barbara Moore 229; Donn Howard 447t; Cheryl Foreman 379.

Reed Coates led song on page 69 for the closing song to end the Saturday session, and Don Ross led the closing prayer.

Sunday, March 31

Chairman Reed Coates opened the Sunday morning session with songs on pages 31b and 198. Leaders: Vice Chairman Morris Nelms 38b; Secretary Pat Blundell 239; Robert Vaughn 50t; Curtis Owen 442t; Barbara Moore 398b; Dale Redmon 507b; Jeanne Schaffer 127; Al Rogers 575; Anitra Kay 39; Gary Rogan 132; Ramona Lee 518; Josh Rogan 227; Keith Willard 144; Amanda Blevins 155; Donald Ross and Matt Wells 420; Diane Ross 299; David McPherson 168; B.E. Matthews 558b; Myrl Jones 497.


Morris Nelms called the class back together. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 302; Zach Rogan 215; Charles Whitmer 218; Carol Selleck 515; Kent Beck 146; Reba Windom 137; Lomax Ballinger 61; Jenny Willard 478; Louis Hughes 395b; Tollie Lee 84; Edith Owen 393; John Schaffer 200; Anne Milner 220; Owen Ross 404; Cheryl Foreman 344.

A memorial lesson was held with Martha Aiken giving a reminder of history. “In 1831 Ambrose Tinney purchased a league of land from Mexico, beginning the modern settlement of McMahan. Five years later Texas won its independence, and more pilgrims hung “Gone to Texas” signs on their doors and moved here. With them, they brought their Bibles and their Sacred Harp songbooks. This singing convention was formally organized 102 years ago. Each year we gather, some of our friends have passed on, but others have come to fill their seats, and that is the memorial. The lessons they taught us, the tradition of praising our Holy Father with our voice and our hearts continues.” Martha Aiken read the list of singers and supporters of Sacred Harp that have passed away since we last met: John Jennings, Pauline Cathey, Erna Holmes, Nobie Smith, Spencer Brite Taylor, Vida Jeffrey, Polly Moore, and those who perished in the September 11, 2001 tragedy. Mark Nelms and Owen Ross led song on page 421 in memory of the deceased.

Morris Nelms read the list of sick and shut-ins and led song on page 563 for: Jerry Schreiber, Verna Powell, Ophelia Matthews, Junior Smith, Lawson Smith, Lovena Owen, Joe Owen, Buddy Baker, Frances Stuckey, Francis Daniels, Harold Lackey, Myra Palmer, Toby Utz, and Sue Utz. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Bruce Coates 511; Catherine Rogan 240; Mary Bachmann 468; Donn Howard 573; Sue Fairbanks 449; Kevin Powell 216. Robert Vaughn asked the blessing for lunch.


Chairman Reed Coates called the class back together leading song on page 179. Leaders: Scott Curran 567; Ramona Lee 432; Gaylon Powell 365; Monnie Ross 108b; Olivia Powell 450; Larry Ballinger 559; Sarah Coates 225t; Terre Schill 414; Tom Owen 138; Katie Moseley 222; George Jones 336b; Liz Owen 212; Billy Huckaby 47; Vivian Rogan 128; Jeb Owen 381t; Mike Moseley 306; Amanda Owen 411; David Moseley 186; Cissy Moseley 276; Beverly Coates 53; Kent Beck 148; John Baker 335; Martha Aiken and Jessie Simon 45; Charles Whitmer 376; Reba Windom 76b; David McPherson 71; Jenny Willard 367.

The one hundred second Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention was dismissed.

Chairman—Reed Coates; Vice Chairman—Morris Nelms; Secretary—Pat Blundell.