Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Furman University Sacred Harp
And Christian Harmony Singing

Herring Music Pavilion, Greenville, South Carolina

Saturday, May 12, 2001

The fourth session of the Furman University Sacred Harp and Christian Harmony Singing was called to order by Chairman Frances Carnell leading song on page 34b. Leon Carnell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Frances Carnell 99, 85; Vice Chairman Dan Huger 178, 71 (CH); Secretary Lee Rogers 50 (CH), 281b (CH); Chaplain John Plunkett 155 (CH), 304 (CH); J.B. Parker 55 (CH), 304 (CH); Judy Mincey 339 (CH), 116t (CH).

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers; Chaplain—John Plunkett; Locating and Hospitality—Jean Osteen Gaston and John Gaston; Arranging—Dan Huger and Willie Israel; Finance—Larry Beverridge and Don Bowen.


Mildred Chandler brought the class back to order leading songs on pages 87b (CH) and 381t (CH). Leaders: Larry Beverridge 321t (CH), 307 (CH); Amanda Denson (with new granddaughter, Emily Brady) 426t, 186; Sharon Kellam 143t (CH), 103b (CH); Don Bowen 70b (CH), 128b (CH); Henry Bizzell 225b (CH), 249t (CH); Deborah Jones 185b (CH), 313b.


Chairman Frances Carnell opened the afternoon session leading song on page 28b. Leaders: Willie Israel 551, 74 (CH); Scott Swanton 334, 130b (CH), 299 (CH) (requested by Amanda Denson); Leon Carnell 481; Chris Berg 248b (CH), 330 (CH); Karen Conner 141, 117; Nancy Yeager 110b (CH), 479 (CH).


Frances Carnell brought the class to order leading song on page 43. Leaders: David Yeager 204t (CH), 169t (CH); Leann Carnell 105b (CH), 68b; Ben Wisdom 141b (CH), 95; Patrick Knowles 495, 148; Colin Brady 40; Dan Huger 268 (requested by Lib Porter); Scott Swanton and Larry Beverridge 49 (CH) (for Jean Gaston); Deborah Jones 454; Frances Carnell 475; Sharon Kellam 117 (CH). The officers led the class in the closing song on page 62, and John Plunkett dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers.