Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwest Texas Sacred Harp
Convention (Cooper Book)

Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, McMahan, Texas

April 28-29, 2001

Saturday, April 28

The spring session of the one hundred-first annual session of the Southwest Texas Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Bethel Primitive Baptist Church in McMahan, Texas. Chairman Leon Ballinger called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading songs on pages 120 and 212. Lavaughn Ballinger offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Vice Chairman Mike Moseley 139; Secretary Pat Blundell 136; Dick Steil 72; Olivia Powell 235; Al Rogers 63; Sarah Coates 76; Billy Huckaby 522; Beverly Coates 532; Tollie Lee 84; Liz Owen 99; Zach Rogan 324; Kathy Lee 146; Keith Willard 144; Ernestine Pipkin 171; George Jones 558b; Vivian Rogan 290; Johnny Lee 38; Dale Redmon 511b; Kay Sirco 283b; Earl Ballinger 40; Edith Owen 511t.


Vice Chairman Mike Moseley called the class back to order leading song on page 378. Leaders: Gaylon Powell 304; Carla Smith 455b; John Schaffer 489; Terre Schill 296; Amanda Owen 142; Jerry Schreiber 393; Ramona Lee 432; Reed Coates 39; Diane Ross 394; Kelly Beard 196; Carol Selleck 450; Donald Ross 419; Lori Rodgers 401; Gary Rogan 567; Donna Sewell 470; Lavaughn Ballinger 508.

A short business meeting was held. Mike Moseley moved up to Chairman. Reed Coates was elected as Vice Chairman, and Pat Blundell continued as Secretary.

Leaders: Robert Handel 488t; Janet Morgan 32t; Josh Rogan 227. Tom Owen offered prayer.


Chairman Mike Moseley brought the afternoon session to order. Leaders: Katie Moseley 98; Jeb Owen 563; Martha Henderson 502; Bruce Coates 572; Cheryl Foreman 478; H.P. O’Mary 67; Kathy Taylor 361; Eric Morgan 81; Elissa Smith 85; Dr. Russell Riepe 383; Nell Berry 358; Tom Taylor 488b; Myrl Jones 189b; Jenny Willard 140; David Lee 68t; Mary Bachmann 546; Matt Wells 543; Myra Palmer 497; John Gardenour and Sharron Gardenour 573.


Vice Chairman Reed Coates called the class back to order leading song on page 58. Leaders: Cissy Moseley 168; Morris Nelms 365; Robert Vaughn 387; Doris Hanks 515; David Moseley 112; Tom Owen 416t; Scott Curran 384; Kevin Powell 133; Mary Owen 47b; Curtis Owen 198, 381; Jenny Willard 367; Catherine Rogan 276; Jerry Schreiber 393; David Lee 49b; Dalton Clanton 507. Mike Moseley and Reed Coates led song on page 377b as the closing song. Tollie Lee offered prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Sunday, April 29

Chairman Mike Moseley called the convention to order at 9:30 a.m. leading songs on pages 179 and 442t. David Lee offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Vice Chairman Reed Coates 217; Secretary Pat Blundell 164; Kevin Powell 183; Diane Ross 434; Myra Palmer 414; Donald Ross 95; Catherine Rogan 186; Matt Wells 288; Myrl Jones 142; David Lee 99; Lori Rodgers 552; H.P. O’Mary 343; Martha Henderson 386; Lavaughn Ballinger 63; Kathy Lee 145b; Kelly Beard 192; Sarah Coates 123b; John Baker 120; Ernestine Pipkin 203; Al Rogers 575; Curtis Owen 372; Janet Morgan 282; Tollie Lee 422; Michele Rogan 215; Eric Morgan 274; Donna Sewell 171; Joyce Gardenour 571; Jerry Schreiber 182; Cheryl Foreman 410; John Schaffer 300; Carol Selleck 440b; Keith Willard 416t; Ramona Lee 461; Earl Ballinger 224; Jenny Willard 199; Johnny Lee and Delorese Lee 47t; Carla Smith 559; John Morris 553; Kay Sirco 143.

A memorial lesson was held. Cissy Moseley presented the list of those who had passed away the past year: Eugene Wakefield, Annie Mae Smith, Alcie Craig, Mildred Edmonds, Robert Todd, Robert Jackson Corley, Winston Jones, Mary Kay Friday, Lorene Hutchinson, Judy Nieth, Lucille Gentry McMillian, Vesta Ellis, Lee Schaffer, and Anna Smith. Kevin Powell led song on page 285t for the deceased.

Liz Rogan Owen presented the names of the sick and shut-ins and then led song on page 283b for: Michael Kaye, Thelma McMahan, Verna Powell, Nannie P. Woods, Adelaide Vaughn, Frances Daniels, Georgia Bass, Lawson Smith, Pauline Willis, Nobie Smith, A.A. Smith, Jr., Marie Smith, Lennie Baker, Lavonia Owen, Viola Jones, and Ophelia Matthews. The memorial was closed.

Leaders: Amanda Owen 200; B.E. Matthews 574; Terre Schill 31t; Morris Nelms 79. Leon Ballinger offered prayer.


Chairman Mike Moseley brought the class back to order for the afternoon session. Leaders: Robert Vaughn 443b; Vivian Rogan 392; Dr. Russell Riepe 126; Liz Owen 82; Burl Russell 418; Beverly Coates 131t; Thomas Willard 36b; Nell Berry 500; Zach Rogan 128; Olivia Powell 348t; Tom Owen 122; Katie Moseley 222; Leola Perry 58; Jeb Owen 421; Cissy Moseley 543; Scott Curran 270; Doris Hanks 422b; David Moseley 137; Joanie Porter 159; Billy Huckaby 400; Cassandra Baker 323b; John Kanode 395; Edith Owen 155; Leon Ballinger 217; Dale Redmon 540; Josh Rogan 408; Jenny Willard 336t; Gaylon Powell 216; Robert Handel 239.

Chairman Mike Moseley and Vice Chairman Reed Coates led song on page 69 as the closing song. Elder Billy Moseley dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Mike Moseley; Vice Chairman—Reed Coates; Secretary—Patricia Blundell.