Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baldwin County Sacred Harp
Singing Convention (Cooper Book)

Bay Minette, Alabama

Saturday, January 27, 2001

Saturday, January 27

Chairman Bill Hogan called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading songs on pages 68b and 171. Aubrey Barfield offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Senior Honorary Chairman William Green 47b; Vice Chairman J.A. Mosley 85; Secretary Alice Mosley 45t; Bob Meek 559; Hershell King 535; John Plunkett 315; Laura Clawson 176t; Elene Stovall 478; Milton Oliver 54; Laura Densmore 98; Frank Hataway 432; Barbara Swetman 500; Aubrey Barfield 567; Horace Nall 170.


Harrison Creel brought the class to order leading song on page 355. Leaders: Bill Hogan 45b; Bud Oliver 440; Rodney Ivey 511b; Genny Whitworth 442t; Leola Smith 230; Nate Green and Norma Green 491; Henry Johnson 331b; Ann Jett and Flarce Creel 573; Max Berueffy 540; Agnes Farris 410;Thurman Nall 38t; Reba Windom 505; Wilburn Ellison 447t; John Kanode 571; Bill Farris 401; Coy Ivey 137; Beula Mae Purvis and Wanda Fay Schumock 563; Tommie Spurlock 37; Edith Tate 333; Michelle Cull 393t; Paulette Chavers 49b; Syble Adams 367; Tim Jones 489; Russ Scholz 265b; Louis Hughes 395b; Shane Wooten 398; Joe Nall 294; Nathan Kant 488b. Aubrey Barfield offered the blessing for the food.


J.A. Mosley opened the afternoon session leading song on page 282 (for Emma Mosley). Leaders: Thurman Nall 292b; Reba Windom 217; Wilburn Ellison 507b; John Kanode 571; Bob Meek 484b; Hershell King 572; John Plunkett 506; Dana Merritt 368, 392; Laura Clawson 186; Elene Stovall 414; Milton Oliver 404; Laura Densmore 336; Frank Hataway 290.


Barbara Swetman brought the class to order leading song on page 146. Leaders: Aubrey Barfield 220; Horace Nall 488t; Bud Oliver 42; Rodney Ivey 444; Leola Smith 185; Nate Green and Norma Green 271t; Henry Johnson 336b; Ann Jett 501; Max Berueffy 436b; Agnes Farris 108b.

Bill Hogan led song on page 527 as the closing song, and Aubrey Barfield offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, January 28

The opening song and prayer was led by Chairman Bill Hogan. Leaders: Vice Chairman J.A. Mosley 341; Senior Honorary Chairman William Green 30b; Secretary Alice Mosley 343; John Etheridge 133; Voncille Sawyer 447t; Ed Bass 309; Aubrey Barfield 497; Genny Whitworth 134; Henry Johnson 418; Frank Hataway 138; Milton Oliver 503; Vickie Aplin 268t; Leola Smith 442; Harrison Creel 54.


Leaders: Edith Tate 225t; Laura Densmore 313; Ann Jett 518; Bill Aplin 94; John Plunkett 498b; Flarce Creel 440; John Kanode 229; Syble Adams 505; Rodney Ivey 98; Michelle Cull 408; Nate Green and Norma Green 478; Hershell King 80; Bob Meek 559; Barbara Swetman 32t.

Elene Stovall gave a beautiful and very loving memorial lesson. She brought our attention to the fact that our dear singers are passing away and wondered if we will have singers in years to come, but for us to keep in mind that we must have faith. She read from the Bible in Corinthians 13:13, and stated that the love for our music and for one another shows everywhere and to everyone. Our singers that are no longer with us, but will always be remembered are: Willie Mosley, Marie Aldridge, A.C. McGough, Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Herbert Phillips, Karen House, Eloise Watkins, Arthur Phillips, Woodie Walker, W.C. Pelham, Robert Berueffy, Gene Wakefield, Rosa Hughes, and Ileeta Aplin.

The sick and shut-ins are: Winston Jones, Lucille Tolbert, Pauline Chavers, Emma Mosley, Faye Jones, Hannah Mathers, Jap Walton, Joyce Walton, Wilbur Chesser, Albert Ryals, and John H. Busby.

Bill Hogan led a song for the South Alabama deceased. Rodney Ivey and Max Berueffy led a song the North Alabama deceased. Song on page 283 was sung for the sick and shut-ins. Harrison Creel closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Cassie Franklin 393; Betty Wright 323b; Agnes Farris 101t. William Green led a song that he composed.


Vice Chairman J.A. Mosley brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 75. Leaders: John Etheridge 472; Voncille Sawyer 74b, Ed Bass 300; Aubrey Barfield 434; Genny Whitworth 436t; Henry Johnson 138b; Frank Hataway 443b; Vickie Aplin 567; Leola Smith 43; Thurman Nall 451b; Wilburn Ellison 410; Tommie Spurlock 376; Bill Farris 391; Andrew Albers 269, 196; Laura Clawson 416b; Georgia Kanode 358; Horace Nall 516; J.A. Mosley 73t (in memory of Willie Mosley); John Etheridge 522.

Announcements were made and the convention was closed with prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Senior Honorary Chairman—William Green; Vice Chairman—J.A. Mosley; Secretary—Alice Mosley.