Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Harry Eskew Sacred Harp Singing

New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary

January 26, 2001

A group of singers and friends met at 6:30 p.m. for the first singing named for Harry Eskew who, after 36 years on the Seminary music faculty, will retire at the close of July 2001.

At Dr. Eskew’s invitation, Hugh McGraw and other Sacred Harp singers came in 1975 to begin Sacred Harp singing on the campus of New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary.

The singing was called to order by Ken Gabrielse.

Harry Eskew, the teacher, led in an explanation of the shapes, and led song on page 49t as practice.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Lewis Oswalt; Secretary/Treasurer—Ken Gabrielse.

Leaders: Lee Hinson 45t; Ben Caston 145t; Terry York 147t; Nancy Van Den Akker 347; Ed Steele 63; Wanda Gregg 40; Hugh McElrath 312b; Becky Lombard 236; Chris Bean 147b; Virginia Cross 127; Bob Neil 128; Kathryn Wroten 84; Sarah Duncan 159; Greg Skipper 72b; Lewis Oswalt 299; Paulo Ponce 133; Jim Fields 320; Kanöot Midkiff 457; Jim Fields 200 (in honor of Harry Eskew); Lewis Oswalt 85.

Harry Eskew led song on page 62 as the closing song. Hugh McElrath led the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Lewis Oswalt; Secretary/Treasurer—Ken Gabrielse.