Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Year’s Day Cooper Book Singing

Pine Ridge Dunkard Brethren Church, Collins, Mississippi

Saturday, January 6, 2001

Andrew Albers opened with a brief singing school and then led songs on pages 49t and 500. Deacon John Myers offered the opening prayer.

A brief business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Andrew Albers; Vice Chairman—Bill Hogan; Secretary—Nancy Van Den Akker; Chaplain—John Myers.

Leaders: Andrew Albers 38b, 76b; Bill Hogan 276, 82; Nancy Van Den Akker 38t, 488t; Andrew Albers 274 (Brethren Hymnal); John Merritt and John Myers 94; John Kanode 507b, 573; Tim Cook 574, 314; Elizabeth Muhleisen 489, 140.


Andrew Albers called the class back to order leading song on page 78. Leaders: Mako Cook 511t, 171; Richard Graham 571, 563; Junie McNeil 344, 442t; Jean Gray 54t, 299; Andrew Albers 369. John Myers offered the table blessing before lunch.


Bill Hogan brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 56. Leaders: John Merritt 166, 323b; Charles Franklin 99, 274t; John Lee Van Horn 497, 45b; Mike McNeil 559, 522; Kurt Davis 45t; Mark Davis 270, 240; Arlon Gardner 543, 68; Hannah Albers and Andrew Albers 392, 73b.


John Merritt and Nelda Mitchell brought the class to order leading song on page 358. Leaders: Ben Burroughs 36b, 155; John Lee Van Horn 162, 263; John Kanode 229; Tim Cook and Mako Cook 488b; Nancy Van Den Akker 115; Andrew Albers 348t, 450; Bill Hogan 441; Arlon Gardner 451b.

Announcements were made of future singings. Andrew Albers led song on page 496t as the closing song. Doug Gibson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Andrew Albers; Vice Chairman—Bill Hogan; Secretary—Nancy Van Den Akker.