Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gib Hale Sacred Harp Memorial

Jones Chapel Senior Citizens Center, Cullman County, Alabama

July 5, 2000

The annual Gib Hale Sacred Harp Memorial singing was held at Jones Chapel Senior Citizens Center on the first Wednesday in July. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading song on page 59. Hershell King led the morning prayer.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 35; Corene White 216, 403 (in memory of her late husband, Vernie White); Billy Williams 154, 425; Jo Schultz 85, 73b; John Hocutt 135, 516; Marilyn Burchett 143, 83b; Flarce Creel 157, 384; Elder J.L. Hopper 402, 24 (t? b?), 91; Hershell King 544, 410 (t? b?) (in memory of Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Oden).


Velton Chafin brought the class to order leading songs on pages 47b and 58 (by request, in memory of Luther Parker). Leaders: Betty Shivers 294, 36b (in memory of her father, Otto McCoy, and the other deceased in her family); Sandie Scott 475, 551; Edith Tate 73t, 387; Euel Freeman 64, 33b (in memory of his farther); Carmon Brothers 207 (in memory of his sister, Alice Washburn), 501 (CB) (in memory of Ervin Brothers and in honor of his wife).


The class resumed singing. Leaders: Ruth Smith 335, 146; Hershell King 544 (in memory of Mr. and Mrs. J.L. Oden); John Hyde 129, 314; Josie Hyde 39b, 43, 454; Tom Schultz 496, 48t; Velton Chafin 45t.


Velton Chafin brought the afternoon session to order with song on page 97. Leaders: Cecil Sanders 225t; Eron White 168, 300; Lenita Pender 127; Jo Schultz 107, 81t; Ruth Smith 82t; Marilyn Burchett 40; John Hocutt 321; Elder J.L. Hopper 320.

Announcements were made. We were extremely happy to welcome our out of state visitors from Tennessee and from the country of Canada. Velton Chafin led song on page 46 as the closing song. Elder J.L. Hopper dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Billy Williams; Secretary—Eron White.