Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Furman University Sacred Harp and
Christian Harmony Singing

Herring Music Pavilion, Greenville, South Carolina

Saturday, May 13, 2000

NOTE: Christian Harmony tunes from the North Carolina book are annotated as CH and tunes from the Alabama book are CH-AL.

The third session of the Furman University Singing was called to order by Chairman Frances Carnell leading songs on pages 34b, 40, 47b, and 36b. Secretary Lee Rogers led songs on pages 145b and 503.

Leaders: David Guthrie 72b; Leann Carnell 148, 504; John Hollingsworth 147t; Diane Eskenasy 182, 354b; Larry Beveridge 347; Henry Zittrouer 480, 270.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers; Chaplain—John Plunkett; Memorial Committee—Debra Jones and Scott Swanton; Locating and Hospitality—Jean Osteen; Arranging Committee—Dan Huger.


Frances Carnell brought the class to order leading song on page 276. Leaders: David Guthrie and Lane Hill 117, 178; John Hollingsworth 82t; Larry Beveridge 48t; Scott Swanton 215t (CH), 117 (CH); Dan Huger 32t, 38b; Leann Carnell 142, 335; John Plunkett 129t (CH), 36t (CH); Bill Hollingsworth 214 (CH), 26b (CH); Diane Eskenasy 155, 200; Leon Carnell 163b, 481. Jean Osteen, singing organizer, welcomed the class to Furman University.


Lee Rogers opened the afternoon session leading songs on pages 70 (CH) and 103 (CH). Leaders: Larry Beveridge 255 (CH), 381t (CH); Frances Carnell 456, 324; Henry Zittrouer 59, 61; John Hollingsworth 401, 85 (CH-AL).

The Memorial Committee remembered the deceased and shut-ins leading song on page 143 (CH-AL).


Frances Carnell brought the class to order leading song on page 360. Leaders: Debra Jones 240; Leann Carnell 128, 169b (CH); Scott Swanton 157b (CH), 130b (CH); Scott Swanton and Larry Beveridge 49 (CH); Bill Hollingsworth 204t (CH-AL), 369b (CH-AL); Dan Huger 372 (CH-AL), 99; Chip Mays 66; John Plunkett 147t, 169t (CH).

The officers led the class in the closing song on page 62. John Plunkett dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Frances Carnell; Vice Chairman—Dan Huger; Secretary—Lee Rogers.