Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emory Sacred Harp Singing

Cannon Chapel, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia

Saturday, February 11, 2017

The 12th annual Emory Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Phillip Langley leading 59. John Plunkett offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Phillip Langley 283 (for Charlene Wallace); Andy Ditzler 138t, 138b; Laura Akerman 192, 235; Jesse Karlsberg 234, 104; John Plunkett 517, 540; Malinda Snow 468, 112; Lisa Bennett 320 (for Lauren Bock), 183; Tony Hammock 430, 547; Lela Crowder 146, 186; Lauren Bock 410b; Lauren Bock, Caroline Rodoni, and Elena Rodoni 45t; Scott DePoy 277, 48t.

M. Patrick Graham, Director of the Pitts Theology Library at Emory University, introduced a special presentation by members of the family of the late Robert W. John, former Professor and Chair of the Music Department and Associate Dean at the University of Georgia, who acquired a collection of 250 tunebooks, including some rare shape-note editions, which has been donated to the Pitts Theology Library. Jesse P. Karlsberg spoke about the significance of the tunebooks in the collection and their value to the library.


The class returned with Phillip Langley leading 32t. Leaders: David Brodeur 100, 101t; Nina Burris 198, 448b. A business session was held and the following officers elected: Chairman—Andy Ditzler; Vice Chairman—David Smead; Secretary—Laura Akerman. Leaders: David Smead 334, 116; Jerusha Wheeler 466, 414; Kathy Collett, Elizabeth Tingley, Claudia Bower, Wright Penn, and Nanci Penn (family of Robert W. John) 59, 162; Charles Woods 523, 143.


Andy Ditzler brought the class back together by leading 145b. Leaders: Jim Neal 30t, 270; Megan Friddle 147b, 37b; Jason Stanford 268, 408; Amy Wells 384, 76b; Nathan Rees 122, 431; Jeannette DePoy 42, 142; Oscar McGuire 276, 485; Susan Posey 128, 344; Kathy Collett 84; Lela Crowder and Lauren Bock 391; John Plunkett and Tony Hammock 148; Lisa Bennett and Jerusha Wheeler 182; Jason Stanford and Nathan Rees 556; Ellen Culpepper 89, 212; Erica Hinton 141, 464; Sam Culpepper 285t, 472; Anna Hinton 168, 209; Nina Burris and Megan Friddle 47b; Matt Hinton 436, 432.

Andy Ditzler and David Smead led 323t as the closing song. Malinda Snow dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Andy Ditzler; Vice Chairman—David Smead; Secretary—Laura Akerman