Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Labor Day Singing

Shoal Creek Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Monday, September 7, 2015

The 95th session of the annual Labor Day Singing was held at Shoal Creek Church, located in Talladega National Forest, Cleburne County, Alabama. The class was called to order by B.M. Smith leading 59. Darrell Swarens offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were retained to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 101t; Cecil Roberts 87, 75; Judy Chambless 318, 82t; Judy Caudle 90, 91; Robert Chambless 66; Winfred Kerr 314; Nicholas Thompson 217, 102; Andy Ditzler 122 (for Lisa Bennet and David Smead), 39t; Pam Nunn and Rene Greene 216 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard), 556 (in memory of Jeff Sheppard); Karen Rollins 298 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers), 297; Brian Black 215, 172; Phil Summerlin 138t, 131b; Brian Park 86.


B.M. Smith led 32t to bring the class together. Joe Jones addressed the class on behalf of the Shoal Creek Preservation Society, and welcomed the singers. He gave a brief summary of future maintenance projects for the church.

Leaders: Fallon Cook 47b, 146; Judy Whiting 472, 208; Mike Richards 354t, 187; Darrell Swarens 277, 36b; Chris Brown 28b, 40; Dennis George 211 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard), 332; Tony Hammock 229, 105; Jesse P. Karlsberg 522, 126; Eric Tweedy 504, 535; Daniel Williams 523, 160b; David Brodeur 34b, 138b; Chance Cook and Dalton Dyer 192, 401; John Plunkett 275b, 227; Judy Mincey 176t, 177; Jack Nelson 497, 500; Samuel Williams 269, 411. Cecil Roberts asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with B.M. Smith leading 270. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 225t, 283; Jason Stanford 168, 73b; John Kelso 400, 407; Kathy Williams 186, 273; Adrian Eldridge 36t, 120; Nate Green and Norma Green 30t, 147t; Donna Bell and Rene Greene 436, 499 (in memory of George Garner); Philip Denney 148, 84; Glenda Collins and Burt Collins 76b, 340; Earlis McGraw 329 (by request); Andrew Greene 303; Judy Green 127 (in memory of William Lee Jones); Ann Simpson 358 (by request), 445; Rene Greene and Pam Nunn 528.

Announcements were made. B.M. Smith and Cecil Roberts led 521 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Caudle