Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Salem United Methodist Church

Farill Community, Cedar Bluff, Cherokee County, Alabama

Saturday, June 21, 2014

The 13th session of the annual Sacred Harp singing at Salem United Methodist Church in Cedar Bluff, Cherokee County, Alabama, was called to order by Henry Johnson leading 60. Henry extended a very warm welcome to everyone in attendance. Blake Sisemore offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 61; Earlis McGraw 283; Carolyn Thompson 228; Jim Aaron 503; Ed Thacker 172; Bea Aaron 456; Rene Greene 273; Syble Adams 421; Judy Chambless 82t; B.M. Smith 91; Shane Wootten 83t; Syd Caldwell 300; Blake Sisemore 436; Loretta Smith 39t; Charlene Wallace 171; Jennifer Kearns 358; Michael Thompson 284; Claudene Townson 72b; Robert Chambless 138b; Jonathan Smith 215; Nate Green and Norma Green 390.

The following officers and committee members were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Jeffrey Richardson; Welcoming committee—Patsy Richardson, Gayle Richardson, Sherry Anderson, and Carolyn Hanks; Secretary/Arranging Officer—Jeffrey Richardson.


Henry Johnson called the class back to order leading 225t. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 511; Loyd Ivey 47t (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Denney Rogers and Karen Rollins 153; Judy Caudle 422; Scott Ivey 365; Cecil Roberts 547; Reba Windom 182; Shelby Castillo 430; Jeannette DePoy 270; Rachel Rudi 500; Richard Ivey 564; Scott DePoy 47b; Deidra Montgomery 546; Lela Crowder 29t; Jesse P. Karlsberg 380; Lauren Bock 202; Cindy Tanner 362; Darrell Swarens 341; Alanna Blanks 405; Phillip Denney 340; Michelle Corntassel 45t. Henry Johnson offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Henry Johnson led 105 to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Karis Askin 268; Wyatt Denney 277; Nathan Rees 68t; Karen Ivey 442; Sandra Wilkinson 297; Rachel Carlisle 75; Susan Cherones 173; Janice Paulk 478; Jeff Begley 65; David Ivey 371; Pam Nunn 189; Danny Creel 42; Karen Rollins 321; Cheyenne Ivey 56t; Richard Mauldin 378t; John Plunkett 513; Syd Caldwell 556; Judy Mincey 540; Dennis George 211; Sharon DuPriest 137; Daphne Causey 269; Nathan Rees 150; Deidra Montgomery 470; Richard Ivey and Blake Sisemore 298.

Announcements were made. Henry Johnson led 45b as the closing song. Ed Thacker offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman and Secretary—Jeffrey Richardson