Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Salem United Methodist Church

Farill Community, Cedar Bluff, Cherokee County, Alabama

Saturday, June 22, 2013

The 12th session of the annual Sacred Harp singing at Salem United Methodist Church in Cedar Bluff, Cherokee County, Alabama, was called to order by Henry Johnson leading 60. Henry extended a very warm welcome to everyone in attendance. Jesse M. Roberts, Jr. offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Henry Johnson 138t; Jim Aaron 503; Judy Chambless 340; Jeannette DePoy 171; Loyd Ivey 460; Shane Wootten 27; Ed Thacker 365; Bea Aaron 568; Dennis George 139; Doug Conn 67; Micah Roberts 276; Darrell Swarens 324; Denney Rogers and Karen Rollins 317; Paula Oliver 349; Scott Ivey 306; Scott DePoy 76b; Cecil Roberts 35; Jesse Roberts 442.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Jeffrey Richardson; Secretary—Carolyn Hanks; Welcoming Committee—Patsy Richardson, Gayle Richardson, and Carolyn Hanks; Arranging Officer—Jeffrey Richardson.


Henry Johnson called the class back to order leading 138b. Leaders: Ed Thacker 30t; Earlis McGraw 170; George W. Burnette III 101t; John Kelso 536; Margaret Thacker 235; Susan Harcrow 475; Matt Hinton 234; Jason Stanford 229; Jeanette Dollar 274t; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; B.M. Smith 313t; Rodney Ivey 123b; Nate Green and Norma Green 136; Jesse Karlsberg 425; Robert Chambless 523; Cassie Allen 419; Timothy Wheeler 30b; Mike Hinton 532; Syble Adams 384; Danny Creel 530; Richard Mauldin 146. Jack Gilbreath asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Henry Johnson called the class back to order leading 166. Leaders: Janice Paulk 371; Nathan Rees 444; Rachel Carlisle 318; Myra Dalton 272; Judy Mincey 538; Lela Crowder 278b; Mark Brown 543; Scott Kennedy 344; Bridgett Kennedy 361; Susan Cherones 300; Henry Johnson 439; Danny Creel 492; Jesse P. Karlsberg 477; Darrell Swarens 111b; Jeanette Dollar 358; Shane Wootten 448b; Doug Conn 400; Jeannette DePoy and Henry Johnson 375; Scott Ivey 542; Janice Paulk 517; Syble Adams and Shane Wootten 496; Matt Hinton 472.

Announcements were made. Henry Johnson led 521 as the closing song. Doug Conn offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Henry Johnson; Vice Chairman—Jeffrey Richardson; Secretary—Carolyn Hanks