Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Independence Day Singing

Camp Lee, Anniston, Alabama

Friday, July 4, 2008

The Independence Day Singing usually held at Muscadine, Alabama, was held at Camp Lee in Anniston, Alabama. Jeff Sheppard called the class to order by leading 32t. Samuel Sommers offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Shelbie Sheppard.

Leaders: Samuel Sommers 358; Rodney Ivey and Cassie Allen 432; Louis Hughes 350; Holly Mixon 59; Robert Chambless 523; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 186; Nathan Rees 313t; Judy Caudle 439; Jeannette DePoy 328; Lela Crowder and Ariella Perry 110; Aldo Ceresa 380; Lynne deBenedette 168; Henry Johnson 341; Charlene Wallace 283; Steven Conte 417; Daphene Causey and Sharon DuPriest 434; SuNell Ellis 143; Lonnie Rogers and Karen Rollins 225t; Stuart Ivey and Jordan Taylor 148; Hannah Tate and Ken Tate 542; Carol Munro Mosley 473; Joanna Lampert 560; Gary Gronau 500; Paula Oliver and Scot Oliver 117; Elene Stovall 564; B.J. Schnorenberg 155; Rodney Willard and Barbara Willard 63; Kelsey Sunderland 77t; Michael Mosley 74b; Ed Thacker 532; Ashton Rodgers 171; Lori Rodgers and Carol Selleck 142; Jonathon Smith 442.


The class was brought back to order by Samuel Sommers leading 146. Leaders: Micah Rodgers 178; Shelby Presnell and Audrey Presnell 31b; Judy Chambless 569t; Becky Browne 411 (in memory of Jeanette Lowry); Justin Squizzero 211; Rebecca Eldridge 507; Rene Greene 436; James Nugent 355; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Alex Makris 540; Corbin Rodgers 401; Lauren Bock 387; Benjamin Bath 105; Adrian Eldridge and Virginia Eldridge 101t; Drew Smith 384; Brianna Bean Hirsch 228; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 303; Scott Kennedy 347; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 573; Anna Hendrick 192; James Eldridge 318; Bridgett Hill 297.


The afternoon session began with Jeff Sheppard leading 97. Leaders: Terry Barber 528; Xaris Martinez 340; J.C. Rutledge 454; Katherine Eldridge 45t; Liz Cantrell 496; Robert Walker 99; Stephanie Fida 270; Fiona Nugent and Shelia Nugent 457; Michael Walker and Shelby Sampson 30b; Karen Swenson 352; Darrell Swarens and Joan Aldridge 217; Jennie Brown 189; Oliver Kindig-Stokes 505; Annie Grieshop and Charlie Derleth 28b; Tom Ivey 195; Maggie Leonard 122; Tom Malone and Judy Caudle 193; Sharon Strong 89; Jesse Roberts 242; Judy Hauff 245; Bentley McGuire 446; Carolyn Thompson 383; Oscar McGuire and Faye Hollis 344; Bea Carnathan 472; Bobby Watkins, Mercy Watkins, and Taylor Watkins 512; Brandon Acton, Jacob Acton, and Jenny Acton 373; Nell Estes 269; Mary Jo Shafer and Kenneith Calvert 503 (for Evelyn Harris); Pam Nunn and Samuel Sommers 220; Carol Mosley 436 (in memory of LaRue Allen).

Jeff Sheppard and Samuel Sommers led 46 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer offered by Samuel Sommers.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Secretary—Judy Caudle