Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Western Massachusetts
Sacred Harp Convention

Northampton Center for the Arts, Northampton, Massachusetts

March 13-14, 1999

Saturday, March 13

The first Western Massachusetts Sacred Harp Convention met at Northampton Center for the Arts. The morning session was a singing school taught by Richard DeLong. The class was dismissed for lunch. Ruth Hooke led the blessing for lunch.


Chairman Tim Eriksen called the afternoon session to order by leading songs on pages 52 (t? b?) and 39t. Leaders: Peter Irvine 68b; Bradford West 383; Eliza Cavanaugh 228; Anna Maria Nygren 30 (t? b?); Jim Desmond 218; Ruth Hooke 198; Karen McArthur 142; George Seiler 168; Lynne deBenedette 456; John Hinsdale 569 (t? b?); Jeff Colby 148; Susan Bingham 178; Ken Langley 299; Sarah Smith 146; Inga Knets 33b; Max Berueffy 328; Rosemary Greenaway 47t; Cath Oss 155; Jean Seiler 217; Martha Lang 106; Guy Banks 444; Allison Schofield 163t.


The class was called to order by Kelly House leading song on page 99. Leaders: Duncan Vinson 451; Mirjana Lausevic 378b; Gary Smith 34b; Aaron Girard 183; Laura Clawson 335; James Ulrich 417; Diane Mennella 542; Sara DeTurk 236; Seth Holloway 354b; Karen House 496; Henry Goodhue 73b; Juanita Heyerman 46; Ginnie Ely 196; Jessica Holland 269; Bill Holt 428; Gina Balestracci 419; Berk Meitzler 361; Richard DeLong 224; Bob Parr 528; Barbara Swetman 287; Allen Fannin 270. Tim Eriksen closed the Saturday session. The class was dismissed with prayer by Richard DeLong.

Sunday, March 14

Chairman Tim Eriksen called Sunday’s session to order by leading song on page 448b. Eliza Cavanaugh led the morning prayer. Leaders: Cath Oss 318; Jeff Colby 131b; Kelly House 85; Tim Eriksen 448t; Richard DeLong 439; Bobbie Goodell 151; Bill Holt 73t; Jodi Seidenstein 344; Anne Kazlauskas 173; Roland Hutchinson 553; Paula McGray 137; June Matthews 200; Eliza Cavanaugh 362; L.H. Spencer 442; John Redman 358; Karen Freund 77t; Susan Bingham 454; Lydia Vernon-Jones 323b; Peter Irvine 72b; Dan Hertzler 474.


The class was called to order by Rosemary Greenaway leading song on page 143. Leaders: George Seiler 480; Laura Risk 84; Karen House 503; Claire Simon 147t; Mary Ellen Donaldson 457; Adrian Mariano 504; Ken Langley 49b; Jim Desmond 455; Ruth Hooke 48t; Max Berueffy 99; Sarah Smith 400; Kshama Ananthapura 33b; John Hinsdale 30t; Inga Knets 203; Diane Mennella 86.

The class was turned over to the Memorial Committee. Kelly House spoke of how Sacred Harp singing is sustained by love. We commemorate the contribution of each of these individuals to Sacred Harp through the love they shared. Kelly House led 376 in memory of the deceased: Mae Seymour, Maude Keeton, and Mary Ramsey Berueffy—Alabama; S. Rodman Irvine—California; Horace DeLong—Georgia; Wilma Vernon and Donna Summerfield—Illinois; Cameron Forbes and Anna Timmerman—Massachusetts; Grace Bizzell and Billy Johnson—North Carolina; Edna Lundgren—Pennsylvania; Shirley Green and Mary Hulburt—Virginia; Evadne McNeil—Wisconsin.

Eliza Cavanaugh led 72b for the following sick and shut-ins: Ursula Woodfield, Margaret Bornick, Dot Garber, Paul Leblanc, Ben Hertzler, and Dinah Breunig. The memorial was closed.

Jean Seiler led song on page 177; and Allison Schofield 142. The blessing for lunch was led by George Seiler.


Tim Eriksen called the class to order leading song on page 37 (t? b?). Leaders: Lynne deBenedette 430; Martha Lang 268; Duncan Vinson 551; Mirjana Lausevic 122; Gary Smith 569b; Kara Morin 106; Bradford West 532; Laura Clawson 510; Seth Holloway 79; Juanita Heyerman 24 (t? b?); Ginnie Ely 397; Jessica Holland 117; Richard DeLong 542; Paula Whiting 497; Gina Balestracci 112; Bob Parr 272; Tim Eriksen 55; Barbara Swetman 277; Allen Fannin 70b; Bobbie Goodell 81t; Greg Freemon 70t; Holly Laws 47 (t? b?).

The Convention then went into a business session to hear committee reports.

The Treasurer, Jeff Colby, reported that due to generous giving over the two days, the expenses of the Convention had been met and that there would be sufficient funds to support advance expenditures for the next convention. Paul Gauthier and Sharon Gauthier—Finance Committee.

The Resolutions Committee made the following report:

Be it resolved that this Convention thanks the following individuals and organizations:

  1. Shana Norberg and all those who were on the welcoming committee;
  2. Bread and Circus grocery store for its generous donation;
  3. Jim Desmond for posting signs;
  4. The food committee, headed by Laura Clawson, with special thanks to Dan and Mary Ann Clawson for heating and carrying food to the convention site;
  5. All those who brought food;
  6. Finance Committee: Paul and Sharon Gauthier;
  7. Housing Committee: Cath Oss and Inga Knets;
  8. Arranging Committee: Kelly House, Lynne deBenedette, Max Berueffy, Anna Maria Nygren, and Karen House;
  9. Chaplains: Eliza Cavanaugh, Ruth Hooke, George Seiler, and Richard DeLong;
  10. Publicity: Peter Irvine and Allison Schofield;
  11. Local media: Bonnie Wells, Amherst Bulletin; John Stifler, Hampshire Gazette; Mark Anderson, Valley Advocate; Rose Sinclair, Greenfield Recorder; Marla Zippay, and WGBY;
  12. Convention Officers: Tim Eriksen—Chairman; Cath Oss—Vice Chairman; Jeff Colby—Treasurer; Kelly House—Secretary;
  13. Northampton Center for the Arts and Kinard Montgomery;
  14. Recording engineer Jim Hemingway, who volunteered his valuable services;
  15. Ruth and Richard Hooke, for hosting the Amherst sing in their home for many years, and without whom the convention would not have happened;
  16. Richard DeLong, for his memorable singing school;
  17. Finally, a heartfelt thanks to everyone who came and made it a great singing.

Respectfully submitted by the Resolutions Committee, Karen House and Bradford West.

Kelly House,Secretary, reported that during the two days of the convention: 257 people from 13 states were registered; 63 leaders were called; and 128 songs were sung.

The business session was closed.

Leaders: Tim Eriksen 68b; Bradford West 39t; Jack Goodell 228; Jodi Seidenstein 87; John Redman 236; Kelly House 385t; Anne Kazlauskas 95; Aaron Kahn 198; Roland Hutchinson 473; Paula McGray 300; Eliza Cavanaugh 155; Adrian Mariano 481; Dan Hertzler 285t; L.H. Spencer 216; Karen Freund 76b; Tim Eriksen 370.

Chairman Tim Eriksen led song on page 62 as the closing song, and all who wished took the parting hand. Tim Eriksen led the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tim Eriksen; Vice Chairman—Cath Oss; Secretary—Kelly House.