Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New England Sacred Harp Convention

Middletown, Connecticut

September 30-October 1, 2011

Friday, September 30

The 36th session of the New England Sacred Harp Convention was held at South Congregational Church in Middletown, Connecticut. Neely Bruce called the convention to order leading 47t, and offered the opening prayer.

No officers were elected or appointed. The Chairman performed the functions of treasurer and chaplain.

Leaders: Charles Cofone 34b; Patricia Callahan 163b; James Goetz 503; Sophia Donforth 142; Margaret Bornick 455; Bethany Towne 351; Michael Thompson 318; Peter Golden 475; Blake Sisemore 411; Ian Quinn 371; Sylvia Martin 35; Ronald Bornick 454; Duncan Vinson 229; Jean Seiler 217; Darrell Swarens 36b; Ben Sachs-Hamilton 56b; Ellen Lueck 547; Ian Smiley 39t; Alex Lough 417; Diane Mennella 27; Jeremy Galvagni 452; Gabriel Kastelle 430; Aldo Ceresa 419.


Neely Bruce called the class to order leading 155. Leaders: Brian Sears 282; Stephanie Fida 428; Sheila Kelley 216; Terry Ryan 193; Ben Sachs-Hamilton 344; Somen Goodman 47b; Duncan Vinson 296; Masti-Denise Mayrand 133; Darrell Swarens 112; Sylvia Martin 174; Alex Lough 284; Ronald Bornick 178; Ellen Lueck 101t; Sheila Kelly 209; Michael Thompson 201; Patricia Callahan 512; Terry Ryan 198; Blake Sisemore 507; Neely Bruce and the students of his American Hymnody class 410t, 300, 159; Ian Smiley and Ian Quinn 228; Michele García Gutiérrez 117; James Goetz 312b; Aldo Ceresa 182; Gabriel Kastelle 101b; Stephanie Fida 179; Peter Golden 313b.

Neely Bruce led 414, and dismissed the class with prayer.

Saturday, October 1

Neely Bruce called the Saturday session to order by leading 146, and offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Leonard Spencer 216; Dean Jens 107; George Dyment 186; Maura Burns 55; Erik-Darden Ymeraga 163b; Charles Biada 116; Jean Seiler 142; Justin Levi 182; Bethany Towne 397; Robert Dove 479; Leah Wilde 178; Al McCready 155; Nancy Britton 391; Tom Padwa 452; Mary Foster 106; Robert Stoddard 422; Ines Lüttgen 210; Bill Holt 208; Joanne DeVoe 31t; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 474; Ian Smiley 212; Melissa Stephenson 361.


Neely Bruce called the class to order leading 32t. Leaders: Anne Kazlauskas 562; Philippa Stoddard 411; Blake Sisemore 550; Susan Jaster 485; Dan Hertzler 153; Martha Rogers 480; Sonia Chin 280; Dick Guest 192; Linda Shea 168; Somen Goodman 347; Tom Malone 195; Eli Hetko 288; Patricia Geritz 66; Christine Andrews 73t.


Neely Bruce led 47t to call the class to order. He conducted the memorial lesson for the deceased and led 189 in their memory.

Aldo Ceresa led 371 for the sick and shut-ins. Blake Sisemore closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Liz Cantrell 460; Elizabeth Stoddard 500; Stephen Marini 532; Margaret Bornick 472; Emily Hancock 339; Ian Smiley 352; Mary Jo Shafer 101t; Ina Shea 329; Sophia Donforth 504; Masti-Denise Mayrand 108b; Terry Ryan 344; Ellen Lueck 299; Jeremy Galvagni 224; Stephanie Fida 326; Gabriel Kastelle 341; Tim Eriksen 379. Neely Bruce offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Neely Bruce called the class to order by leading 46. Leaders: Wayne Dell and family 268; Michael Thompson 392; Bethany Towne 330b; Matthew Wojcik 302; Jean Seiler 492; Blake Sisemore and Tim Eriksen 269; Emma Rose Brown 527; Rachel Speer 399b; Aldo Ceresa 434; Jeff Gauthier 270; Diane Mennella 318; Dean Jens 536. Acting in the role of treasurer, Neely Bruce took up the collection as Ian Quinn led 68b. Leaders: Patricia Callahan 568; Darrell Swarens 267; Ronald Bornick 84; Peter Golden 549; Michelle García Gutiérrez 117; Alex Lough 64; Kitty Kagay 36b; Sylvia Martin 365; Rowan Lupton 183.


Neely Bruce led 148 to call the class to order. Leaders: Ronald Bornick and Margaret Bornick 334; Michelle García Gutiérrez and Morgan Hamill 274t; Ellen Lueck and Maura Burns 335; Tom Malone and Stephen Marini 291; George Dyment, Erik-Darden Ymeraga, and Justin Levi 455; Linda Shea and Ina Shea 213t; Darrell Swarens and Peter Golden 317; Kitty Kagay and Christine Andrews 111b; Gabriel Kastelle and Leonard Spencer 260; Matt Wojcik, Emma Rose Brown, and Jeremy Galvagni 76b; Liz Cantrell and Leah Wilde 99; Alex Lough, Emily Hancock, and Eli Hetko 300; Philippa Stoddard and Charles Biada 384; Sharon Lehr 47b; Mary Jo Shafer, Robert Dove, and Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 287; Robert Stoddard and Elizabeth Stoddard 564; Terry Ryan, Nancy Britton, and Dick Guest 486; Al McCready and Martha Rogers 282; Diane Mennella, Dean Jens, and Rachel Speer 30t; Stephanie Fida, Rowan Lupton, Sonia Chin, and Jeff Gauthier 454; Bill Holt, Patricia Callahan, Jim Harper, and Nina Harper 376; Barbara Benary and Patricia Geritz 503; Anne Kazlauskas, Joanne DeVoe, Tom Padwa, and Sylvia Martin 551; Michael Thompson, Blake Sisemore, Ian Quinn, and Aldo Ceresa 436.

Announcements were made. Officers and committees having not been appointed, no reports were given.

Neely Bruce led 62 as the closing song, and dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Neely Bruce; Acting Secretaries—Martha Rogers and Ian Quinn